Rhode Island auto insurance laws
Rhode Island insurance laws are clear. If you’re caught driving without auto insurance in Rhode Island, you are likely to face serious consequences. For example, you’ll be fined between $100 and $500 following your first offense. For two or more infractions, the minimum fee is $500. You’ll also lose your driving privileges. You may also have to pay a fee when you want to have your license reinstated.
Rhode Island minimum coverage requirements
Here’s a look at what Rhode Island minimum car insurance coverage must include:
- $25,000 bodily injury per person
- $50,000 bodily injury per accident
- $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident
How to get cheap auto insurance in Rhode Island
Shopping for auto insurance begins with gathering car insurance quotes in Rhode Island. It also involves investigating all potential discounts.
Hunting for discounts
The number of potential insurance discounts varies by insurer. Taking the time to look through options can end up saving you money. Here are some of the discount options you’re likely to come across:
- Usage-based discount
- Multi-car discount
- Good student discount
- Safety feature discount
- Multi-policy discount
- New car discount
- Defensive driver discount
- Pay-in-full discount
- Away-at-school discount
- Occupational discount
- Alumni discount
- Professional organization discount
Insurance companies also base your rate quote, in part, on your credit score. If a low credit score is getting in the way of the rates you want, taking steps to boost your score can save money.
Other things to consider when looking for car insurance in Rhode Island
Buying cheap liability car insurance in Rhode Island is better than driving without cover. Still, it may not cost as much as you think to add another level of protection. If you have a clean driving record it is possible to purchase a comprehensive policy for less than $116 per month. Yes, it’s an added expense, but a comprehensive policy covers things like:
- Uninsured Motorist: Protects you against loss if you’re in an accident and the other driver was at fault.
- Underinsured Motorist: If you’re in an accident and the other driver is at fault, underinsured motorist helps cover your medical expenses if the other driver does not carry enough liability insurance.
- Collision: Covers expenses to repair (or replace) your car if it’s damaged.
- Medical Payments: Helps pay medical or funeral expenses if you or a passenger in your vehicle are injured in an accident.
- A good Rhode Island auto insurance policy also helps to replace or repair your car if it’s damaged or stolen.
Paying for auto insurance may not be fun, but it’s an important way to protect your financial wellbeing. Checking Rhode Island car insurance quotes is the first step in uncovering the best car insurance in Rhode Island.